Encouragement

Posted: February 2, 2009 in Uncategorized

Who Am I?

People hunger for me, but I’m not food. I motviate poeple, but I am not money. I strengthen emotional relationships, but I’m not love.  I serve the giver as much as the receiver, but many won’t share.  I dramatically change lives, but I’m seldom coonsidered. I am Encouragement

I went to a youth thank you service a short time ago and heard a speaker who was an illusionist.  I know that some that would seem strange that a Southern Baptist church would have this type of illusionist and be a speaker.  But this man had an awesome message. He talked about encouragement and he was wonderful.  His name is Barry Mitchell, check him out at his website, www.barrymitchell.com.  When he spoke he had some points that I wanted to share.

What type of people understand the power of encouragment? Winners.  Winners are the people who make a habit of doing the things losers are uncomfortable doing.  But what is encouragment? It is the skill of giving courage, confidence, and support.  The best way to knock the chip off a person’s shoulder is to pat him on the back.  A fifth grade definition of encouragment is putting up instead of putting down.  Ther are high spots in all of our lives, and most them come about through encouragement from someone else.

Within encouragement there are three levels.  One is to encourage personally.  Two encourage in front of peers.  Three encourage in front of ppers with a written compliment.  Father James Keller siad, as Mr. Miller quoted, ” A candle loses nothing by lighting another candle.” Think about that for a moment.

But encouragment also has power habits that will be motivators to get you started, but also to keep you going.  Private power habit of enourager is daily quiet time.  A positive power habit is to say it positive, self fullfilling prophesy, or read my lipes.  What we steadily, consciously, habitaully think we are that we tend to become. Partner power habit is to have accountable friends.  and final a postal power habit is to give encourgement through written applause.

I am not doing just to Mr. Mitchell’s sharing as he did a magnificent job in using illustrations, humor, illusions and personal stories along with magical personal interaction with thecrowd.   But here is why I share all of this here is to encourage one another.  As the body of Christ there is alot going on in the country right now.  It is now surprise that our economy is on the way down.  We have a new president and everyone is watching to see how he will step up and lead our country.  But most of all right now I think there is one thing that everyone needs and that is encouragement. 

Encouragement to let them know that tomorrow will come.  That there is hope.  I know that I need it myself and I thank God daily that he has given me a wife that encourages me moment by moment and day by day. I don’t know what I would do without her. 

Right now in this uncertain time the world, the lost, the hurting need encouragement. Encouragement that when they feel alone or lost that there is someone who is there and loves them.  In these hard and difficult days it is an oppurtunity for the church to reach out to those who are in need and are suffering.

Leave a Reply

